Beethoven Sonatas, Vol. 2

Beethoven Sonatas, Vol. 2 includes an early sonata, and two of Beethoven’s finest later sonatas. The C-minor Sonata, Op. 111 was Beethoven’s last piano sonata, and as annotator Harris Goldsmith writes, it is a composition that presents “stormy elements tempered by an Olympian reserve.” The popular Op. 81A Sonata “Lebewohl” was to have been a memento of the composer’s emotions when his pupil and loyal friend, Archduke Rudolphe, was forced to flee Austria in May of 1809 as the French besieged Vienna. The sonata was completed the following year, after the royal family was able to return. The Op. 2, No. 2 Sonata was dedicated to Beethoven’s teacher, Josef Haydn, and was composed in 1795-96. Though it is an early work, it is hardly an immature one, bearing many of the developmental procedures that distinguished Beethoven’s art from that of his contemporaries. Garrick Ohlsson’s readings are full of the virtuosity and passion that have marked his live performances of these works. This release coincides with the pianist’s Complete Beethoven Sonata cycles at the Tanglewood and Ravinia Festivals this summer. Garrick Ohlsson is widely regarded as one of the great virtuosi currently performing on the international concert stage. With an active repertoire of more than 80 concertos, a full schedule of solo recitals and chamber music engagements, Mr. Ohlsson’s brilliant music making has graced the world’s concert halls ever since he won the 1970 Chopin International Piano Competition.

Release Date:
1 Jul. 2006
Number of Discs:
Bridge Records, Inc.
(C) 2016 Bridge Records, Inc.
Total Length: