Bach: Goldberg Variations; Handel: Suite No. 2, HWV 427

Bach’s Goldberg Variations, BWV 988, is widely regarded as the most ambitious and monumental harpsichord composition of the baroque. In this brilliant reading Garrick Ohlsson performs the work without repeats, giving us the genius of Bach’s invention with unflagging momentum without slighting the poignantly introspective side of Bach’s singular masterpiece. Garrick Ohlsson is regarded as one of the great virtuosi currently performing on the international concert circuit. With an active repertoire of more than 80 concertos and a heavy schedule of solo and chamber recitals, Mr. Ohlsson’s brilliant music making has graced the world’s major concert halls ever since winning the 1970 Chopin International Piano Competition. Bridge Records will be releasing Volumes 1 and 2 of Ohlsson’s Beethoven Sonata cycle to coincide with the pianist’s Complete Beethoven Sonata cycles at the Tanglewood and Ravinia Festivals this summer. Volume 3 of Garrick Ohlsson’s Beethoven cycle will be released in September. Garrick Ohlsson can also be heard playing the music of Charles Wuorinen on BRIDGE 9008

Release Date:
1 May. 2006
Number of Discs:
Bridge Records, Inc.
(C) 2016 Bridge Records, Inc.
Total Length: