Concerts at Tanglewood

This August, Garrick Ohlsson will return to Tanglewood for four enthralling concerts featuring the entire repertory for piano of the revered composer, Johannes Brahms. Mr. Ohlsson has had a close bond with the festival, having first performed there in 1971 and returning for regular performances. Equally close is his relationship with the composer to whom these concerts are dedicated to, with the project of taking on all of the solo piano works by Brahms beginning several years ago for Mr. Ohlsson. These performances will be the culmination of this project as he performs the four complete programs in public for the first time.

The recitals will take place on August 16, 18, 23, and 25


See below for the four programs:


Program 1 (8/16)

Eight Piano Pieces, Op. 76

11 Variations on an Original Theme, Op. 21, No. 1

14 Variations on a Hungarian Melody, Op. 21, No. 2

Four Ballades, Op. 10

Variations on a Theme of Paganini, Op. 35, Book 1


Program 2 (8/18)

Sonata No. 2 in F-sharp minor, Op. 2

Six Piano Pieces, Op. 118

Three Intermezzi, Op. 117

Variations and Fugue in B-flat, on a Theme by Handel, Op. 24


Program 3 (8/23)

Two Rhapsodies, Op. 79

Seven Fantasies, Op. 116

Variations on a Theme of Paganini, Op. 35, Book 2

Sonata No. 3 in F minor, Op. 5


Program 4 (8/25)

Scherzo in E-flat minor, Op. 4

Variations in F-sharp minor on a theme by Schumann, Op. 9

Sonata No. 1 in C, Op. 1

16 Waltzes, Op. 39

Four Piano Pieces, Op. 119